LIGHT AND SOUL - Photos of Malika Diagana from Senegal
Urban Life in Dakar

Vom 19. März bis 5. April 2020  in der Photobastei Zürich. www.photobastei.ch
Opening on March 19 at 18.00 in the presence of the photographer

Photographers from the West African counties Senegal and Mali have been getting attention from the western art world since the 1990s. In particular in the cities of Dakar and Bamako, a lively scene involving its own image traditions and aesthetics has developed alongside the genres of street and studio photography. Other forms of documentary photography also play important roles in society, for example, as a means of transmitting information to illiterate segments of the population, but also in passing on traditions and stories.
The most important African art shows take place every two years in Bamako and Dakar: the DAk’Art and the Rencontres de Bamako, Biennale africaine de la photographie.

Malika Diagana: “Photographier, c’est écrire en lumière.”
The photographer from Mauritania and Dakar is one such photographer whose imagery is completely unique and who is gaining more and more international attention.
Her black-and-white photographs depict life on the streets of Dakar and tell the stories of the people who live there: women shopping at the market, children playing, young men spray-painting graffiti beside the street.
In particular the portraits of women, with all of their nuances and shades of grey, have a timeless and enchantingly beautiful quality achieved via the photographer’s light play.

Malika Diagana was born in Mauritania in 1982, grew up in a multicultural family and has lived in Senegal since she finished school. She discovered photography while studying graphic design and video studies. This first contact motivated her to focus her attention in this direction. As a result of her ability to employ various techniques to “play with light”, she began a career in graphic design and devoted a portion of her time to photography. Meeting the photographer Djibril Sy kindled her passion for black-and-white photography and encouraged her to pursue this interest. Another person who has had a large influence on her work is her uncle Julien Lopez, who was one of the first photographers to have his own studio in Saint-Louis, Senegal in the 1960s and to make a living from it.
For Malika Diagana photography provides the possibility of representing her perspectives and points of view, telling a multitude of stories and preserving snapshots of the present for future generations.
The photographer is currently in the process of establishing a photo studio in Dakar while setting up a photography training program especially for women in Mauritania. She hopes to find sufficient sponsors to fund the program in the coming year.

Malika Diagana exhibited her work at the 2015 Rencontres de Bamako and was invited to participate in the 2018 Lagos Photo Festival. Her photos have been exhibited in Germany and France and published in newspapers and magazines. More information is available on her website www.linguereart.com. www.linguereart.com

LIGHT AND SOUL – Fotos von Malika Diagana aus Senegal
Urban Life in Dakar

Aufgrund der Corona Pandemie musste die Ausstellung auf 2021 verschoben werden. Sobald ein neues Datum feststeht, wird es hier stehen. Bis hoffentlich bald!

In der westlichen Kunstwelt werden seit den 1990er Jahren Fotografinnen und Fotografen aus den westafrikanischen Ländern Senegal und Mali mit Aufmerksamkeit wahrgenommen. Insbesondere in den Städten Dakar und Bamako hat sich eine lebendige Szene entlang der Genres der „Strassen-„ und „Studiofotografie“ entwickelt mit eigenen Bildtraditionen und Aesthetiken. Auch andere Formen der Dokumentarfotografie spielen eine grosse gesellschaftliche Rolle, als Informationsvermittlung für Leseunkundige beispielsweise, aber auch bei der Weitergabe von Ueberlieferungen und Erzählungen.
In Bamako und Dakar finden auch alle zwei Jahre die beiden wichtigsten Kunstmessen in Afrika statt, die DAk’Art und die Rencontres de Bamako, Biennale africaine de la photographie.

Malika Diagana: „Photographier, c’est écrire en lumière.“
Die Fotografin aus Mauretanien und Dakar ist eine dieser Fotografinnen, die eine ganz eigene Bildsprache zeigt und mehr und mehr international bekannt wird.
Ihre Bilder in der Ausstellung zeigen in Schwarz-Weiss das Leben in den Strassen von Dakar und porträtieren die Menschen dort. Frauen auf dem Markt, beim Einkaufen, spielende Kinder, junge Männer beim Graffiti sprayen entlang der Strasse.
Vor allem die Porträts der Frauen sind durch die Art, wie die Fotografin mit dem Licht spielt, zeitlos und von einer berückenden Schönheit, in all ihren Nuancen und Grautönen.

Malika Diagana wurde 1982 in Mauretanien geboren, ist in einer multikulturellen Familie aufgewachsen und lebt seit Ende ihrer Schulzeit in Senegal. Während ihres Grafikdesign- und Videostudiums entdeckte sie die Fotografie. Dieser erste Kontakt mit dem Bild motivierte sie, in diese Richtung fortzufahren. Dank ihrer Fähigkeit, verschiedene Techniken zum „Spielen mit Licht“ anzuwenden, begann sie eine Karriere im Grafikdesign und widmete einen Teil ihrer Zeit dem Fotografieren. Die Begegnung mit dem Fotografen Djibril Sy weckte ihre Leidenschaft für die Schwarz-Weiss Fotografie und animierte sie, diesen Weg weiterzugehen. Einen grossen Einfluss auf ihre Arbeit hat auch ihr Onkel Julien Lopez, einer der ersten Fotografen, der in den 60er Jahren ein eigenes Studio in Saint-Louis, Senegal hatte und auch davon leben konnte.
Fotografie ist für Malika Diagana eine Möglichkeit, ihre Sichtweise, ihren Standpunkt zu vertreten, eine Vielzahl von Geschichten zu erzählen und Momentaufnahmen der Gegenwart für kommende Generationen zu bewahren.
Aktuell ist die Fotografin am Einrichten ihres eigenen Fotostudios in Dakar und am Aufbauen einer Fotoausbildung in Mauretanien, speziell für Frauen. Sie hofft, im kommenden Jahr genügend Geldgeber dafür zu finden.

Malika Diagana hat u.a. 2015 an der Rencontres de Bamako ausgestellt, 2018 wurde sie ans Photofestival in Lagos eingeladen. Ihre Fotos wurden auch schon in Ausstellungen in Deutschland und Frankreich gezeigt und in Zeitungen und Magazinen veröffentlicht. Weitere Informationen finden sich auf ihrer Webseite www.linguereart.com